x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND — Beaches at South Padre Island are open once again. Life at the island leading up to... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 05 2020 May 5, 2020 Tuesday, May 05, 2020 4:23:00 PM CDT May 05, 2020 in News
An instructional software specialist at Sharyland Independent School District hosts his own internet show and has been referred to as... More >>
2 months ago Monday, May 04 2020 May 4, 2020 Monday, May 04, 2020 3:26:00 PM CDT May 04, 2020 in News
Rene and Maria Elena Corbeil, husband and wife, are both professors at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley in... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 28 2020 Apr 28, 2020 Tuesday, April 28, 2020 6:56:00 AM CDT April 28, 2020 in News
With shelter in place orders in effect amid the coronavirus outbreak, many businesses have been forced to close. One... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 23 2020 Apr 23, 2020 Thursday, April 23, 2020 7:01:00 AM CDT April 23, 2020 in News
For over a month, classrooms have been empty. School hallways, silent. Teachers, now, giving instructions online. At the Region... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 21 2020 Apr 21, 2020 Tuesday, April 21, 2020 2:15:00 PM CDT April 21, 2020 in News
Relatives of the lives lost at the worst train and truck accident in history 80 years ago spoke out at... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 16 2020 Apr 16, 2020 Thursday, April 16, 2020 7:36:00 AM CDT April 16, 2020 in News
ALAMO – Eighty years ago, 34 farm workers died when their truck was hit by a train in Alamo –... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 14 2020 Apr 14, 2020 Tuesday, April 14, 2020 7:33:00 AM CDT April 14, 2020 in News
Two sisters are sewing their own masks and teaching others how to sew their own amid the coronavirus outbreak. ... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 09 2020 Apr 9, 2020 Thursday, April 09, 2020 7:30:00 AM CDT April 09, 2020 in News
The San Juan Basilica is getting ready for an Easter Sunday like never before. Bishop Daniel Flores says Easter... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 07 2020 Apr 7, 2020 Tuesday, April 07, 2020 6:48:00 AM CDT April 07, 2020 in News
EDINBURG – Two Pizza Hut employees are celebrating 30 years of service. As two people with autism, they’re proving... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 02 2020 Apr 2, 2020 Thursday, April 02, 2020 7:38:00 AM CDT April 02, 2020 in News
HARLINGEN – Like many events around the Rio Grande Valley, the Harlingen Farmer's Market has had to close temporarily due... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, March 31 2020 Mar 31, 2020 Tuesday, March 31, 2020 7:05:00 AM CDT March 31, 2020 in News
SAN BENITO - Joe Callandret was a farmer and businessman when he died. His wife donated the land so... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, March 26 2020 Mar 26, 2020 Thursday, March 26, 2020 9:30:00 PM CDT March 26, 2020 in Community - Con Mi Gente
ROMA – Starr County is full of history tied to the Rio Grande Valley's beginnings – a lot of that... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, March 24 2020 Mar 24, 2020 Tuesday, March 24, 2020 6:43:00 AM CDT March 24, 2020 in News
ALAMO – Kidney transplant recipients came together to promote the Kidney 5-K Run in Alamo. The 5-K was organized... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, March 19 2020 Mar 19, 2020 Thursday, March 19, 2020 6:31:00 AM CDT March 19, 2020 in News
BROWNSVILLE - The First Presbyterian Church of Brownsville held their first church service on a river boat in Brownsville. ... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, March 17 2020 Mar 17, 2020 Tuesday, March 17, 2020 5:55:00 AM CDT March 17, 2020 in News

Radar
7 Days