x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
SAN JUAN – A new statue will be placed at Basilica Of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle. ... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 18 2019 Jun 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 8:12:00 AM CDT June 18, 2019 in News
PALMVIEW – Being 92 years young doesn’t mean you have to be taking it easy. Trudy Marcotte still drives... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 11 2019 Jun 11, 2019 Tuesday, June 11, 2019 10:26:00 AM CDT June 11, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – It’s summer! Time to look for the nearest gym and get back in shape. For senior citizens,... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, June 06 2019 Jun 6, 2019 Thursday, June 06, 2019 10:07:00 AM CDT June 06, 2019 in News
MISSION- The purpose of the annual My Tejano Awards is to recognize up and coming artists in the genre of... More >>
2 months ago Monday, June 03 2019 Jun 3, 2019 Monday, June 03, 2019 11:00:00 PM CDT June 03, 2019 in Community - Con Mi Gente
PENITAS- It’s not your average taco. The "Super Sincro" has two pounds of mixed cheese, two pounds of beef,... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 30 2019 May 30, 2019 Thursday, May 30, 2019 8:14:00 AM CDT May 30, 2019 in Community - Con Mi Gente
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND – The South Padre Island Birding Center is the new home to 52 alligators. The birding... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 28 2019 May 28, 2019 Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:46:00 AM CDT May 28, 2019 in News
BROWNSVILLE – A newly revamped kitchen is now being used for Big Heroes program. It's a program for... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 23 2019 May 23, 2019 Thursday, May 23, 2019 8:50:00 AM CDT May 23, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – When they first started meeting a year and a half ago to celebrate Korean pop culture, there were... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 21 2019 May 21, 2019 Tuesday, May 21, 2019 8:59:00 AM CDT May 21, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – Regardless of age, cosplayers suited up as their favorite characters. Some went to show off, others went... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 16 2019 May 16, 2019 Thursday, May 16, 2019 7:59:00 AM CDT May 16, 2019 in News
BROWNSVILLE - Texas' longest yard sale starts in Brownsville and stretches north of San Antonio. It started in... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 14 2019 May 14, 2019 Tuesday, May 14, 2019 7:42:00 AM CDT May 14, 2019 in News
RIO GRANDE CITY – Bugle calls were part of the life at the historic Fort Ringgold in Rio Grande City.... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 09 2019 May 9, 2019 Thursday, May 09, 2019 8:37:00 AM CDT May 09, 2019 in News
HARLINGEN – Everybody loves to see classic cars, the ones your parents used to drive. Each owner at the... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 07 2019 May 7, 2019 Tuesday, May 07, 2019 7:56:00 AM CDT May 07, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – In one big ceremony, more than 400 people from around the world took an oath that will forever... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 02 2019 May 2, 2019 Thursday, May 02, 2019 9:58:00 AM CDT May 02, 2019 in News
PHARR – Her students couldn’t believe it at first, but she just may be the only female automotive instructor at... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 30 2019 Apr 30, 2019 Tuesday, April 30, 2019 9:46:00 AM CDT April 30, 2019 in News
EDINBURG – You mention the subject of unidentified flying objects and people tend to pay attention. Those who believe... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 25 2019 Apr 25, 2019 Thursday, April 25, 2019 7:17:00 AM CDT April 25, 2019 in News

Radar
7 Days