x

Con Mi Gente

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
The Koffee Klatch has been around in Harlingen for over 60 years. The owners of the restaurant, Lucy and... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, July 21 2020 Jul 21, 2020 Tuesday, July 21, 2020 9:06:00 AM CDT July 21, 2020 in News
D'Ann Loop is a retired school teacher but that doesn't mean she's stopped giving lessons. Loop is the author... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, July 16 2020 Jul 16, 2020 Thursday, July 16, 2020 6:34:00 AM CDT July 16, 2020 in News
The coronavirus pandemic has changed lives in many ways including that now wearing masks has become the normal. One... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, July 15 2020 Jul 15, 2020 Wednesday, July 15, 2020 5:47:00 AM CDT July 15, 2020 in News
Two friends, Humberto Nevarez and Brendan Flores, decided to go into business together and open Energym and Shakes, a vitamin... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, July 09 2020 Jul 9, 2020 Thursday, July 09, 2020 7:16:00 AM CDT July 09, 2020 in News
It's called Coastal GX . Robert Salazar started the YouTube channel to share stories from his adventures on South... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, July 07 2020 Jul 7, 2020 Tuesday, July 07, 2020 8:22:00 AM CDT July 07, 2020 in News
The Port Isabel lighthouse opened its doors to the public once again after closing temporarily due to the coronavirus outbreak.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 30 2020 Jun 30, 2020 Tuesday, June 30, 2020 6:45:00 AM CDT June 30, 2020 in News
On Saturdays and Sundays, street vendors line alongside Highway 107, east of Edinburg, for a small flea market sale. ... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 25 2020 Jun 25, 2020 Thursday, June 25, 2020 8:51:00 AM CDT June 25, 2020 in News
Rudy De La Tore started by selling barbeque plates from his backyard, now he’s the proud owner of Big Dog... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 23 2020 Jun 23, 2020 Tuesday, June 23, 2020 7:04:00 AM CDT June 23, 2020 in News
The Schmatz family will celebrate Father's Day with two new diplomas this year. Jeremy Schmatz, 24, of McAllen and... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 19 2020 Jun 19, 2020 Friday, June 19, 2020 12:58:00 PM CDT June 19, 2020 in Community
The Beverly's Hardware store in Edinburg has been around now for 73 years. The shop was handed down to... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 16 2020 Jun 16, 2020 Tuesday, June 16, 2020 6:40:00 AM CDT June 16, 2020 in News
Slowly all businesses affected by the coronavirus are starting to re-open their doors to the public. David Sanchez and... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 12 2020 Jun 12, 2020 Friday, June 12, 2020 8:47:00 AM CDT June 12, 2020 in News
Juneteenth activities start this weekend in the Rio Grande Valley – the holiday celebrates the end of slavery in the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 11 2020 Jun 11, 2020 Thursday, June 11, 2020 7:33:00 AM CDT June 11, 2020 in News
A band made up of three Rio Grande Valley brothers are using their musical skill to give back to the... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, June 04 2020 Jun 4, 2020 Thursday, June 04, 2020 7:32:00 AM CDT June 04, 2020 in News
While other entertainment venues are just opening up, the WesMer drive-in theater is drawing a crowd. As coronavirus cases... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 02 2020 Jun 2, 2020 Tuesday, June 02, 2020 6:52:00 AM CDT June 02, 2020 in News
Many Rio Grande Valley students are celebrating their graduating seniors with a caravan parade. The teachers and staff greeted... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 28 2020 May 28, 2020 Thursday, May 28, 2020 7:20:00 AM CDT May 28, 2020 in News

Radar
7 Days