x

Con Mi Gente

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
The Balli Cemetery in Donna is a historical part of the Rio Grande Valley, where the Balli family have kept... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, November 05 2020 Nov 5, 2020 Thursday, November 05, 2020 1:12:00 PM CST November 05, 2020 in News
One Harlingen man followed his dreams of becoming an artist after he was diagnosed with PTSD. Abstract Artist Sean... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, October 27 2020 Oct 27, 2020 Tuesday, October 27, 2020 1:33:00 PM CDT October 27, 2020 in News
It will be 50 years since an airplane crashed into Our Lady of San Juan Del Valle's shrine and exploded... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 20 2020 Oct 20, 2020 Tuesday, October 20, 2020 9:25:00 AM CDT October 20, 2020 in News
On a 75-acre ranch north of La Feria, the Treviño family is once again opening their pumpkin patch to the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 15 2020 Oct 15, 2020 Thursday, October 15, 2020 10:01:00 AM CDT October 15, 2020 in News
Salsa El Gallo is a Rio Grande Valley salsa company that is now being sold nationwide. Founded in 2011,... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 13 2020 Oct 13, 2020 Tuesday, October 13, 2020 9:54:00 AM CDT October 13, 2020 in News
Jerrod Leon Henry just wanted to bring a little bit of Appalachia and the Ozarks to the Rio Grande Valley.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 09 2020 Oct 9, 2020 Friday, October 09, 2020 8:37:00 AM CDT October 09, 2020 in News
A Rio Grande Valley man drove highways as a professional truck driver for 30 years. But about 4 years... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 06 2020 Oct 6, 2020 Tuesday, October 06, 2020 6:02:00 PM CDT October 06, 2020 in News
Local veterans banded together to serve chicken plates in the middle of the pandemic. The American Legion Post 205... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 01 2020 Oct 1, 2020 Thursday, October 01, 2020 9:41:00 AM CDT October 01, 2020 in News
One Harlingen man is putting his entire collection of toy cars and sports memorabilia for sale after 35 years of... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 29 2020 Sep 29, 2020 Tuesday, September 29, 2020 7:04:00 AM CDT September 29, 2020 in News
Serda’s Barber Shop has been in the city of Pharr for over 72 years. Javier Serda, owner of Serda's... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, September 24 2020 Sep 24, 2020 Thursday, September 24, 2020 12:18:00 PM CDT September 24, 2020 in News
It's National Hispanic Heritage month. A Rio Grande Valley family opened their first restaurant half a century ago and... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, September 23 2020 Sep 23, 2020 Wednesday, September 23, 2020 3:22:00 PM CDT September 23, 2020 in News
We first met with Sister Zita two years ago. She was program director at La Posada Providencia in San... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 17 2020 Sep 17, 2020 Thursday, September 17, 2020 8:55:00 PM CDT September 17, 2020 in News
For the Garza family, cutting hair is a family tradition. The Garza family owns Discount Barber and Beauty Center... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, September 15 2020 Sep 15, 2020 Tuesday, September 15, 2020 6:35:00 AM CDT September 15, 2020 in News
Looking for your next book at the library isn't the same as it was in the past. The COVID-19... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 10 2020 Sep 10, 2020 Thursday, September 10, 2020 2:37:00 PM CDT September 10, 2020 in News
Most students in the Rio Grande Valley are now back in school. While the last school year ended with... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, September 08 2020 Sep 8, 2020 Tuesday, September 08, 2020 6:28:00 PM CDT September 08, 2020 in News

Radar
7 Days