x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
HARLINGEN – Everybody loves to see classic cars, the ones your parents used to drive. Each owner at the... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, May 07 2019 May 7, 2019 Tuesday, May 07, 2019 7:56:00 AM CDT May 07, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – In one big ceremony, more than 400 people from around the world took an oath that will forever... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, May 02 2019 May 2, 2019 Thursday, May 02, 2019 9:58:00 AM CDT May 02, 2019 in News
PHARR – Her students couldn’t believe it at first, but she just may be the only female automotive instructor at... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, April 30 2019 Apr 30, 2019 Tuesday, April 30, 2019 9:46:00 AM CDT April 30, 2019 in News
EDINBURG – You mention the subject of unidentified flying objects and people tend to pay attention. Those who believe... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, April 25 2019 Apr 25, 2019 Thursday, April 25, 2019 7:17:00 AM CDT April 25, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – He was diagnosed with autism when he was a child; now as a young adult he has a... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, April 23 2019 Apr 23, 2019 Tuesday, April 23, 2019 7:36:00 AM CDT April 23, 2019 in News
BROWNSVILLE – It was a 40 year high school reunion of sorts; only eight people showed up, but they were... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, April 18 2019 Apr 18, 2019 Thursday, April 18, 2019 11:17:00 AM CDT April 18, 2019 in News
WESLACO – For nearly 50 years, a nature preserve in Weslaco celebrates Earth Day. Frontera Audubon Society will host... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, April 11 2019 Apr 11, 2019 Thursday, April 11, 2019 10:19:00 AM CDT April 11, 2019 in News
RAYMONDVILLE – There were no marching bands or big political speeches. That didn’t stop a group of veterans from... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, April 09 2019 Apr 9, 2019 Tuesday, April 09, 2019 7:10:00 AM CDT April 09, 2019 in News
FALFURRIAS – A 109-year-old woman is celebrating her birthday, but says she regrets no longer being allowed to drive her... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, April 04 2019 Apr 4, 2019 Thursday, April 04, 2019 2:36:00 PM CDT April 04, 2019 in News
MERCEDES – The Rio Grande Valley Livestock Show has come and gone. It was a huge success thanks in... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, April 02 2019 Apr 2, 2019 Tuesday, April 02, 2019 10:37:00 AM CDT April 02, 2019 in News
BROWNSVILLE – A flag from the Texas Revolution has been fully restored and will be put on exhibit in Brownsville.... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, March 28 2019 Mar 28, 2019 Thursday, March 28, 2019 10:30:00 AM CDT March 28, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – When he first started practicing medicine, there were three and there were known as the Tavarez Brothers. ... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 26 2019 Mar 26, 2019 Tuesday, March 26, 2019 8:47:00 AM CDT March 26, 2019 in News
MCALLEN – To some the word “graffiti” implies vandalism, but others consider it to be the new art. “Nowadays... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 21 2019 Mar 21, 2019 Thursday, March 21, 2019 9:22:00 AM CDT March 21, 2019 in News
MISSION – You can see the concentration on all of their faces. Rigo Martinez, a middle school from Pharr,... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, March 19 2019 Mar 19, 2019 Tuesday, March 19, 2019 8:19:00 AM CDT March 19, 2019 in News
SAN BENITO – Experts say there are only about 80 ocelots in the entire United States. All of them... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 14 2019 Mar 14, 2019 Thursday, March 14, 2019 7:52:00 AM CDT March 14, 2019 in News

Radar
7 Days