x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
EDINBURG – A volunteer group that raises money to fight childhood cancer went to this year’s Shave-a-Thon in support of... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, March 12 2020 Mar 12, 2020 Thursday, March 12, 2020 6:42:00 AM CDT March 12, 2020 in News
ROMA – A large rock buried in the ground that dates back to 1767 is the last remaining marker of... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, March 10 2020 Mar 10, 2020 Tuesday, March 10, 2020 5:54:00 AM CDT March 10, 2020 in News
ALAMO - Shoppers don't have to get out of the car to shop with the new drive-through flea market in... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, March 05 2020 Mar 5, 2020 Thursday, March 05, 2020 5:57:00 AM CST March 05, 2020 in News
HARLINGEN – For pet-owners in Harlingen, the Pet Fun Match is the dog show of the year. Sharon Battocletti... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, February 27 2020 Feb 27, 2020 Thursday, February 27, 2020 6:42:00 AM CST February 27, 2020 in News
GRANJENO – The Friendship Festival in Granjeno has been going on for the past 14 years. The festival is... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 25 2020 Feb 25, 2020 Tuesday, February 25, 2020 7:15:00 AM CST February 25, 2020 in News
PHARR – Valley Animal Hospital employee Vicente Hernandez retired after 69 years on the job. Hernandez started at a... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, February 20 2020 Feb 20, 2020 Thursday, February 20, 2020 6:43:00 AM CST February 20, 2020 in News
PHARR – The Por Vida Food Festival in Pharr started three years ago as a way to serve healthy foods... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 18 2020 Feb 18, 2020 Tuesday, February 18, 2020 6:00:00 AM CST February 18, 2020 in News
PHARR – For decades Tejano music legends were always on the road to entertain their fans. These days, though they... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, February 13 2020 Feb 13, 2020 Thursday, February 13, 2020 6:01:00 AM CST February 13, 2020 in News
MCALLEN – The McAllen Car Fest wrapped up with over 300 cars on display. The event had many classics... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 11 2020 Feb 11, 2020 Tuesday, February 11, 2020 6:37:00 AM CST February 11, 2020 in News
BROWNSVILLE – For 83 years, Charro Days has held the biggest celebration in Brownsville. It's a celebration of the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, February 06 2020 Feb 6, 2020 Thursday, February 06, 2020 6:52:00 AM CST February 06, 2020 in News
MCALLEN – Everyone in town is invited to ‘Walk with the Mayor’ – an event intended to make you a... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 04 2020 Feb 4, 2020 Tuesday, February 04, 2020 6:46:00 AM CST February 04, 2020 in News
EDINBURG – For over two years Brandon Ramirez would get up at 4:30 a.m. and ride his bicycle across the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 30 2020 Jan 30, 2020 Thursday, January 30, 2020 5:59:00 AM CST January 30, 2020 in News
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND – South Padre Island is the place to go to fly a kite over the weekend for... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, January 28 2020 Jan 28, 2020 Tuesday, January 28, 2020 5:58:00 AM CST January 28, 2020 in News
SAN ISIDRO – A church in San Isidro, built around 1920, is now collapsing. The Guadalupe- El Toreo Church... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, January 23 2020 Jan 23, 2020 Thursday, January 23, 2020 6:52:00 AM CST January 23, 2020 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO – Nature photography is a hobby that is becoming increasingly popular. The Estero Llano Grande State Park in... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, January 21 2020 Jan 21, 2020 Tuesday, January 21, 2020 6:46:00 AM CST January 21, 2020 in News

Radar
7 Days